For Free Sample Papers, Subscribe Us on YOUTUBE

Highest Awards and Honours in Indian Armed Forces

Awards are distributed for the upgrading their grade and for the purpose of encouraging them to do better. And for this purpose awards are distributed among every field to keep the person motivated to do better and to come up with the best ideas in respect to how to improvise and how to give the better shape to their work.

And we all are aware of the fact the situation which the army people go through. In return whatever is done for them is still contemplated to be less compared to the service rendered by them.

But still, for their encouragement, various awards are given to them. Because of this factor a lot of aspirants try to join the Indian Army and for those people here is the step by step Daily Time-Table to crack Indian Army Physical Test person

List of Indian Military Gallantry Awards

This award is distributed amongst the soldiers of our country which is categorized into two groups:-

War Time Gallantry AwardsPeace Time Gallantry Award

1. War Time Gallantry Awards

War Time Gallantry Awards in Indian Army

These awards are given to the army for their eminent services done by them at the time of war on the battlefield. It is basically provided to them in order to value their efforts to meet the enemies and have the audacity to face the enemies and to surrender their lives for the nation.

Param Vir Chakra

Param Vir Chakra is contemplated as one of the prestigious awards amongst the War-Time gallantry award.

It is given to the specified officers who are mentioned in the Indian Armed Forces. The main objective of distributing this award is to applaud the fearlessness and heroism of the soldiers and the ritual of distributing this award began on 26th January 1950.

Param Vir Chakra of Indian Military has been ranked equivalent to Victoria Cross of England and Medal of Honor of United States.

India’s first Param Vir Chakra was awarded to  Major Somnath Sharma.

Also See: 10 Indian Soliders who Earned Param Vir Chakra

 Maha Vir Chakra

It is contemplated as the second prestigious award awarded to the officers of the Indian Armed forces.

This award is basically given to them who are enriched with the courage to end the face and end the enemies.

Vir Chakra

Vir Chakra is awarded to those who are fearless in every term to face the enemies be that in the air, water or on the land.

The only objective is not to let the enemies win. This award is contemplated as a third prestigious award which comes in subsequent to Param Vir Chakra and Maha Vir Chakra.

2. Peace Time Gallantry Award

Peace Time Gallantry Awards in Indian Army

These awards are awarded to those who had acquired the most noticeable bravery award or the most prestigious and the one who has sacrificed themselves for the others.

These awards are mainly given to those who have marked the bravery even when they are not present on the battlefield.

Ashok Chakra

It is contemplated as the award which has the high rank amongst the awards that fall under Peace Time Gallantry Award.

It has acquired the similar importance to that of Param Vir Chakra and the only difference that can be noticed is the fact that this award is given to those who have shown their bravery being away from the battlefield.

Kirti Chakra

This award is given to those who had shown their valour at the time of counterinsurgency operations.

Shaurya Chakra

Prior to the year 1967, this award was being familiar as ‘Ashok Chakra Part 3’. Well, this award is also distributed amongst police and soldiers for their extraordinary bravery and that also being away from the battlefield.

Medals in Indian Defence Forces

The medals distributed amongst Indian Army are:-

Sena Medal

This medal is distributed to all of the members admitted in the Indian Army. It can be given for gallantry or it can be given for the distinct service done by the army.

Vayu Sena Medal

This medal is given amongst the Indian Military for the purpose for doing the job in a precise manner the ritual for giving this award has been started from 17th June 1960 by the President and since then this medal is given for honouring the work done by the Indian Militants.

Sarvottam Yudh Seva Medal

This medal is one of the most prestigious awards given in the sector of wartime distinguished service.
This medal is given for doing the distinct service in their work which includes war, conflicts etc. It is given to all the ranks of Army, Navy, and the Air Force.

Param Vishisht Seva Medal

This medal is given for the identification of the peacetime service of the order which is contemplated to be the most extraordinary and can be awarded even after the death of the concerned person.
All the ranks of the Indian Armed Forces are suitable for attaining this award.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *